The Couch Is My Friend

I fell asleep on the couch last night, as expected. (This was largely due to my decision to turn away from the TV when Katniss and Peeta were in District 11.) I woke up to Katniss yelling for Peeta and Finnick yelling for Katniss; I fully intended to get into bed when the movie ended, but I fell back to sleep before the credits started. I woke up again at 5:30 and started the movie over but fell asleep even more quickly. I started the movie a third time when I got up for real at 10:30 and managed to actually watch the whole thing.

I haven’t really left the couch all day, though. After I finished Catching Fire there was baseball to watch. And then there were TV shows I needed to get caught up on. (God bless the CW’s iPad app.) Plus, there was reading to be done.

I started Eleanor & Park about a week ago, and I really like it, but it fills me with dread. I’m terrified that something awful is going to happen. This is kind of a new experience for me. I mean, The Fault in Our Stars didn’t fill me with dread, and it’s a book about kids with cancer. But Eleanor & Park? I’ve been worried from day one. It might be why I haven’t devoured this book as quickly as I thought I would.

Some days my head is filled with strange thoughts that I just have to rid myself of. Today is one of those days.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

