I Was A Responsible Adult

I went to work today.

That doesn’t sound particularly impressive, but that’s because you don’t know everything that I know.

  1. I woke up more than an hour before my alarm went off because my stomach was Not Happy. (So unhappy, in fact, that I decided to forego coffee full stop today. No me gusto.)
  2. I spent the hour-plus before my alarm fantasizing about calling out sick and all the fun things I could do with a free day (mostly reading and watching movies).
  3. I have four alarms set for weekdays (7:00, 7:20, 7:35, and 8:00 – when I absolutely have to get up to take a shower). Today I was awake for almost two hours (thanks to the aforementioned stomach problems) and then somehow fell asleep between 7:35 and 8:00, thus making work even less desirable when that 8:00 alarm went off.
  4. I told myself that if I still felt like shit at 8:00 I could call out, but damn if I didn’t feel fine.

So, I went to work. But I really, really didn’t want to. I just really, really can’t afford to not get paid.

I need a new job. Do you hear me, universe? I (really, really) need a new job!

Until tomorrow (if you’re lucky).

Leave a comment